xmarksmyspot

Just another WordPress.com site

with 7 comments

Last night I got drunk. I roamed a little bit of my island, inebriated and clutching onto a friend – giggling and gleeful. This may not seem worthy of an announcement  – but to me it is significant – it was the first time in a long time I had fun. Actual, genuine, uncluttered by cancer fun. And what really thrills me is that my diagnosis came up in conversation numerous times but it didn’t dampen my spirit and at the end of the evening when I got really angry and outraged – venting and fuming about the state of it all. It, finally, wasn’t about my diagnosis but the politics of my country. I am not deluded. I understand the road to recovery is long and slow and there will be good days and bad days – and when I reach the end I still won’t be me at all. Not entirely. But last night? Last night I got drunk.

Written by xmarksmyspot

February 4, 2012 at 2:05 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay! The more good days the better.

    clare

    February 5, 2012 at 2:48 pm

  2. hi there – john simpson is a friend and his girlfriend zina pout me onto your blog a while back but i only just took the link today – i have cancer too – colon- i have a blog on wrod press janfairley word press blog comes up on goggole but i only write once a month – i felt great empathy reading your blog today – i am much older – 62 – but i have always lived life to the full – and i love life and now feel very weird as i am much lower on energy and don’t even want to do things a lot of the time- i feel i have lost my joie de vivre and although i am fine i feel full of inertia – i hope you got the balloons and i like the idae of ebign drunk not that i touch alcohol anymore as i am trying to protect my liver – i am taking lots of special supplements having consulted a Dr CAllebout in London at the Nutri centre – i do enemas each day and drink a lot of green juices and vegggies and lots of fish.. avocados… no sugars or fats or much carbs either… anyway – i will con tinue toi read your blog and send you all strength and love and solidarity sister!

    juanfair

    February 18, 2012 at 6:58 pm

  3. hi there – john simpson is a friend and his girlfriend zina put me onto your blog a while back but i only just took the link today – i have cancer too – colon- i have a blog on word press janfairley word press blog comes up on google but i only write once a month – i felt great empathy reading your blog today – i am much older – 62 – but i have always lived life to the full – and i love life and now feel very weird as i am much lower on energy and don’t even want to do things a lot of the time – i live alone and that is a drag now – i feel i have lost my joie de vivre and although i am fine i feel full of inertia although i am not depresed or unhappy – just bemuserd by life i expect – i hope you got the balloons and i like the idea of being drunk not that i touch alcohol anymore as i am trying to protect my liver – i am taking lots of special supplements having consulted a Dr Callebout in London at the Nutri Centre – i do 2 enemas each day and drink a lot of green juices and veggies and lots of fish.. avocados… no salt sugars or fats or much carbs either… food has got boring but when i eat normally it is now hard too as my body has got used to living without tasty stuff ! anyway – i will continue to read your blog and send you all strength and love and solidarity sister!

    juanfair

    February 18, 2012 at 7:01 pm

  4. UPDATE!

    PhilosophyChild

    April 4, 2012 at 11:11 pm

  5. hello.. just wondering if all is ok with you.. all the best..

    Ceyla

    April 12, 2012 at 2:30 am

  6. Just to let you know that I follow your blog and hope that all is going ok… stay strong!

    Waterseal

    April 12, 2012 at 1:32 pm

  7. Hi,

    I have a quick question about your blog, would you mind emailing me when you get a chance?

    Thanks,

    Cameron

    cameronvsj(at)gmail.com

    Cameron

    February 8, 2013 at 3:30 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

